He Looked My Way: The Power Of A Crush

The first crush.

The Beginning

I had my first true crush in 8th grade. Let’s call him Matt. Matt was the funniest kid in my school to me, and my friends always mocked me about him. I always believed I didn’t have a shot with him because A) I wasn’t popular B) I wasn’t popular and C) I wasn’t popular. I was a super shy girl who was overweight and awkward, who kept to her friends *friends I still hold dear to my heart today and always will. And yes, they still mock me about Matt to this day*

I always understood that Matt was a ‘from a distance’ crush but that was alright. He still was funny and charming from a distance. Then, one day in 10th grade I walked into my science class and our teacher said we were switching seats. And she put me next to Matt.

Oh.

My.

God.

The Middle

The young soul I was started to internally freak out as I went to sit next to him. I don’t think I learned a thing that semester, but that was alright. I was young and excited and probably sweating bullet *gross!*

He was just as charming and funny when he wasn’t at a distance.

Of course, nothing came of it. I graduated high school and moved on to college.

The End

I dated around for awhile but nothing serious. One day during my senior year, I was in a relationship and my boyfriend at the time said, “Hey, Eric wants us to go out to eat with him and a friend, you up for it?” I had the biggest exam of my life the next day, but I guess I needed dinner, so I agreed.

When we met up with Eric, I saw his friend.

Oh.

My.

God.

It was Matt. Standing in front of me. With my boyfriend. And I couldn’t take my eyes off of him. Not only did he greet me and hug me, but we spent the next three hours hanging out. Just me and Matt. *okay okay, and boyfriend and Eric—but does that matter?*

And then Matt left. And My first crush finally had the ending that it wanted. A final hug and a ‘great seeing you’. It was the perfect ending to this ‘not so fairy-tale fake romance’.

***

In my stories I like to make my characters feel as deeply as that 16 year old version of myself felt. Those butterflies, those ‘what ifs’, those nerve-wrecking feelings.  There’s this magical moment that happens in my stories. There’s a beginning of the crush, there’s the middle, and then there’s the end. It’s at the end that you discover if it is nothing more than a crush, or if it transforms into a love.

And the best thing? It happens to everyone. Not only to a sixteen year-old. But to an eighty year-old. A forty-seven year-old. Crushes don’t stop after high school, but they travel with you as long as your heart beats, as long as your palms sweat.

Never underestimate the power of writing about a crush. Give your hero or heroine a moment to truly feel that deep emotion. The possibilities are endless and powerful. And when you write the crushes correctly, the readers will too, leave with a feeling of bliss.

Now, time for me to get back to writing about love and other dramatic things.

Always,

-Brittainy Chantal

Leave a Reply

