Happily Ever Afters?

I have always been in love with the idea of love. All kinds of love. The romantic love, the friendship love, the dysfunctional family love.

Each of those loves has a different  level of depth to them. Let’s look at romantic love for example: There’s the young lovers, old lovers, distant lovers, puppy lovers, opposite lovers, stranger lovers, best friend lovers, violent lovers etc…you get the point.

And as a writer, no matter what, I find myself coming back to the idea that my stories have to end with the ‘Happily Ever Afters’.

This isn’t to say that some minor or supporting characters do not die. This isn’t to say that there aren’t super heavy moments in the stories that break your heart. It’s just saying that at the end of the day, on that last page, there is a happy moment.

The way I see it is that people need the happily ever after. Not only do people need it, but they freaking deserve it! You need a moment to feel good and say, “Yes! That’s what it is all about!” It’s not about the money. It’s not about the status. It’s not politics that move us. But it’s that human connection. That feeling that for one moment in time there is another person who sees you for who you are, and still loves you with ever fiber in their being.

As a reader, by all means you deserve to get lost in a love story.

When I craft my characters in my novels and screenplays, I make it a love triangle. There’s the hero, the heroine, and then there’s you. You get to fall in love, too. You get to watch as it all unfolds. You get to see the hero’s deepest thoughts. You get to experience the heroine’s painful discoveries. You get to watch their false victories and true failures. You are part of them, just as they are a part of you.

People say that romances are the most cliché genres out there and I say SO WHAT?! A great romance novel makes you stay up late reading, go to sleep dreaming, and wake up longing for more. A great romance novel is a reminder that there is someone else on this planet with the same hopes and dreams that you have. A great romance novel inspires, educates, and leaves your lips curved up with satisfaction of a job well done.

So cliché or not, but happily ever afters are something worth fighting for.

So this is my vow to my readers. This is my promise that my romances will twist at your hearts. I vow that there will be sadness. I vow that there will be laughter. I promise that there will be different levels of love. I promise that there will be anger.

And I promise you there will be always be a happily ever after.

For as long as we both shall live.

Always.

-Brittainy Chantal

Image

6 thoughts on “Happily Ever Afters?

Leave a Reply

